I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Airport Improvement Program

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Administered by:

US Federal Government Agency (see all agencies)
Department of Transportation , Federal Aviation Administration
CFDA #: 20.106

Possible uses and use restrictions...

Grants can be made for integrated airport system planning in a specific area; and airport master planning, construction, or rehabilitation at a public-use airport or portion thereof. Authorizing legislation refers to an airport as any area of land or water used or intended to be used for the landing or taking off of aircraft and includes, within the five categories of airports listed below, special types of facilities such as seaplane bases and heliports. The statute further defines airports by categories which include commercial service, primary, cargo service, reliever, and general aviation airports. They are defined as follows: Commercial Service Airports are publicly owned airports that have at least 2,500 passenger boarding each year and receive scheduled passenger service. Passenger boarding refer to revenue passenger boarding on an aircraft in service in air commerce. The definition also includes passengers who continue on an aircraft in international flight that stops at an airport in any of the 50 states for a non traffic purpose. Passenger boarding at airports that receive scheduled passenger service are also referred to as Enplanements. Nonprimary Commercial Service Airports are Commercial Service Airports that have at least 2,500 and no more than 10,000 passenger boarding each year. Primary Airports are Commercial Service Airports that have more than 10,000 passenger boarding each year. These airports are further categorized as Hub Airports, based on the level of passenger boarding. Hub categories for Primary Airports are defined as a percentage of total passenger boarding in the most current calendar year ending before the start of the current fiscal year. The definition and formulae used for designating Primary Airports by Hub Type and Percentage of Annual Passenger Boarding are: Large 1 percent or more; Medium - at least 0.25 percent, but less than 1 percent; Small - at least 0.05 percent, but less than 0.25 percent; and Non hub - more than 10,000, but less than 0.05 percent. Cargo Service Airports are airports that, in addition to any other air transportation services that may be available, are served by aircraft providing air transportation of only cargo with a total annual landed weight of more than 100 million pounds. Reliever Airports are airports designated by the FAA to relieve congestion at a Commercial Service Airport and to provide more general aviation access to the overall community. The remaining airports, while not specifically defined in Title 49 U.S.C., are referred to as General Aviation Airports and comprise the largest single group of airports in the U.S. airport system. Eligible work at airports consists of: (1) airport master plans; (2) airport noise compatibility plans; (3) land acquisition; (4) site preparation; (5) construction, alteration, and rehabilitation of runways, taxiways, aprons, and certain roads within airport boundaries; (6) construction and installation of airfield lighting, navigational aids, and certain offsite work; (7) safety equipment required for certification of airport facility; (8) security equipment required of the sponsor by the Secretary of Transportation by rule or regulation for the safety and security of persons and property on the airport; (9) snow-removal equipment; (10) terminal development; (11) aviation-related weather reporting equipment; (12) equipment to measure runway surface friction; (13) burn area training structures and land for that purpose, on or off airport; (14) agency-approved noise compatibility projects; (15) relocation of air traffic control towers and navigational aids (including radar) if they impede other projects funded under AIP; (16) land, paving, drainage, aircraft deicing equipment and structures for centralized deicing areas; and (17) projects to comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, Clean Air Act, and Federal Water Pollution Control. Grants may notbemade